The picturesque, little village of Llanrhaeadr yng Nghinmeirch has been a settlement since at least the sixth century, when St Dyfnog set up the church next to the holy well. The modern translation of the village name means ‘church waterfall’ (‘llan’ meaning church and ‘rhaeadr’ meaning waterfall). However, originally the village name would most likely have been translated as 'the enclosure of the waterfall (or cascade) in the district of Cinmeirch'. The church tower dates from the 13th century but the doubled aisled body of the church was a 15th century addition.
Visitors can also see the holy well a short walk behind the graveyard and view the Jesse Window, which depicts the descent of Christ from Jesse, father of King David. The window dates from 1533, and is one North Wales' most precious medieval treasures.
GYG is an 1100m Karting Circuit, one of the biggest karting circuits in the UK.
A historic Welsh Drovers Inn, nestled on the edge of the sleepy village of...
This interesting and scenic trail links the Hiraethog villages of Pentrefoelas,...
Take on the Her Hiraethog