Gwytherin is a peaceful and picturesque little village in a small valley through which the River Cledwen flows. Winner of 'Best Kept Village on four occasions, this is a great place to come for a quiet walk off the beaten track .
In the centre of the village opposite the Lion Inn is the Church of St Winnifred which was built and dedicated to her in 1869. The church is believed to have originated in the mid 600’s AD up by Prince Eleri who then went on to set up a double monastery in the village. He was the Abbot to the monks, and his cousin’s daughter, St Gwenfrewy (Winnifred) was the Abbess to the nuns.
St Winifred had her head severed by an enraged cheiftain after she spurned his advances. A spring arose where her head landed and she was later restored to life by her uncle St Beuno. Even today, pilgrims today visit the healing waters at Holywell in Flintshire. St Winnifred died and was buried in the churchyard in November 660AD. Her bones were removed by Bendictine monks in the 11th century and taken to their abbey in Shrewsbury.
In the peaceful churchyard at St Winnifred's are three ancient yew trees. You will also find a row of four ancient standing stones approximately 1 metre high and aligned roughly east to west. A close look at the first stone reveals carving and what appears to be a W.